Self sabotage or self preservation?

This is a saying I often use with clients. It’s a favourite of mine and using my new found hobby I decided to put it onto paper via the sketch app on my iPad.

Sometimes the ending changes to “milked all day” or “milked longer than was good for your health”.

I find it helps someone see where one incident can affect their whole day, especially where it’s something that has no real cost asides from replacing a tyre or being a bit later than intended. Something relatively simple.

I suppose it puts things into perspective. Is it really something that is going to affect you next day or next week or even next year or is it one of those things that you can let go?

It wasn’t always something I practiced. I could have grumbled all day and let my mood stop me from getting on with my work, enjoying time with friends and family, continuing along a path that meant I would end the day thinking that it had been a bad one.

I think I was probably a bit of a pain to be around on those days.

The first time I put this into practice was when I was taking my car up to the garage as it had issues with the battery and didn’t always start.

I pulled into the local shop/petrol station and went to get my dad a cuppa. I came out and the car wouldn’t start.

I went in and asked the staff if anyone had jump leads and within 20 minutes the engine was running again. I did have a very impatient dad in the car but at least he wasn’t thirsty.

A very helpful manager got things sorted, rang a friend for jump leads and ensured both my dad and I were ok.

Once we got the engine started again I thanked him, smiled and he surprised me by telling me that he had never seen anyone so unaffected by issues with their car. Especially as I was now running late and still had a smile on my face.

Years ago I would have grumbled about things all day, letting things affect my mood. I didn’t actually think about the effect it had on me or others around me.

Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with getting upset or reacting to a situation but if it affects you all day unnecessary and you realise you had a choice would you continue or choose to feel better?

And if you are choosing to milk it for much longer than was necessary, is it time to ask yourself why?

2 comments

  1. I spent so long in a job where i could not let bad things affect me, I got used to just coping.

    But when I retired, small things could ruin my day. Like dog-walking in torrential rain, or finding a flat tyre on my car that has no spare supplied. Ringing Kwik-Fit mobile tyre service and being told ‘tomorrow’, so unable to drive out of the village that day. That would get me in a terrible mood. Then one day I realised that I hadn’t been planning to drive anywhere that day anyway, and yet I went to bed fuming about the flat tyre, having ruined the day and evening by being grumpy.

    So I ‘copped myself on’, and realised I had to walk my dog in the rain, and if I needed to go somewhere when my tyre was flat, I could afford to phone a taxi. 🙂

    Best wishes, Pete.

    Like

Leave a comment